La Tour de l'Horloge (the clock tower)


Dive into the history of the Beffroi of Issoudun : guardian of centuries
The Beffroi of Issoudun, with its two majestuous round ower, is way more than a simple fortified door. Build in the XIIth century, it ensure the link between the castle and the town through its 7 imposant doors.
​
Dismentled in 1562 during religious wars, it was rebuild in 1583 in a elegant Renaissance style, but wihour its origin defenses. The ditches surrounding the tower were fild, reducing the height of the Beffroi by a third.
​
This imposant building served as a jail during the 1914-1918 war, and the wall of the little tower still has the graffities of the former prisonners.
​
Today, the Beffroi, may be desarmed and unused, stays a strong symbol of the town. He dominates the principal place and is a rythm of every-day life with its clock, fondly named "L'Grous" in berrichon.
​
Come and admire this witness of the past and let you transport by its fascinating stories and its captivating anecdots.